The Lost Picnic by B.B. Cronin


I was sent a copy of this book free of charge in exchange for my honest opinion. This post contains affiliate links. Read our disclosure policy for more information

Title: The Lost Picnic | Author: B.B. Cronin | Publisher: Viking Books for Young Readers |
Publication Date: September 19, 2017 | Age Range: 3-7

Last September I discovered a delightful book, The Lost House, written by author B.B. Cronin. The Lost House is would call a modern-day seek and find with every page filled with whimsical drawings. Fast forward to this September, and our family is now enjoying the latest installment, The Lost Picnic.

The Lost Picnic is perfect for fans of I Spy who are looking for a modern update. Brilliantly illustrated this book is sure to dazzle young and adult readers alike as they search for the missing items.

The Lost PicnicThe Lost PicnicThe Lost HouseThe Lost House

Synopsis

In The Lost Picnic, Grandad is taking his grandchildren on a picnic in his big car. On their way to the country, they drive on a very busy highway full of cars and signs. Passing charming little villages and topiary-filled parks. Upon arriving at the picnic spot, they discover all their food has tumbled out of the car along the way! That’s where you the reader comes in. It’s up to you to find the missing food so the family can enjoy their meal.

About the Author:

B. B. Cronin is an award-winning illustrator originally from Dublin, Ireland and the author of The Lost House, which received the Gold Award from the Society of Illustrators. His work has appeared in The New Yorker, The New York Times, and on the covers of Penguin Classics, among many other publications. B.B. Cronin, honored by a one-person show at the Irish Museum of Modern Art in Dublin in 1998. He lives and works in Brooklyn, New York with the illustrator Juliette Borda and their two children, Henry and Esmé, where he divides his time between his kitchen, living room, and his studio.

Visit him on Facebook or at BrianCronin.com.

Our Thoughts

With each turn of the page, the reader will find dozens of incredibly tiny details. This was definitely a welcomed challenge after enjoying the first book for some time. My youngest is huge on seek-and-find books, and loved that this one was a tad more challenging than the first. While The Lost Picnic would make a great gift for that special child in you life, I could also see this being a wonderful coffee table book.



Samantha

Samantha has been blogging for over 8 years and is a wife and homeschool mom of 4 from North Carolina.

One thought on “The Lost Picnic by B.B. Cronin

  • 11-02 at 7:40 pm
    Permalink

    Great review! I am so glad I found my way here through Timberdoodle’s Blog Team page. My Christmas list is growing like crazy after reading everyone’s reviews. Thank you for sharing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

1 + 6 =