Scholastic BRANCHES “Pick a Series, Grow a Reader”

Samples and prizing are provided by Scholastic to facilitate this review. We give our honest opinion of products. Some post may also contain affiliate links

Ever have trouble finding just the right book for kids who are ready to make the leap from early readers but not quite prepared for a traditional chapter book? Scholastic has the answer! Branches is a unique line of books specifically designed for newly independent readers, typically kids ages 5 to 8. The Branches line is here to help you foster a love of reading in your kids and give them the tools they need to become life-long readers.

· Branches books help your child get a head-start on his or her reading career! Each book includes: easy-to-read text, simple plot lines, plenty of context cues, cliffhanger chapter endings, and purposeful illustrations (on every page!) that aid in reading comprehension. Feeling like a successful reader will bolster your child’s self-confidence, which will lead to an increased interest in reading.

· The Branches line is solely made up of series. We want young readers to return to their favorite characters again and again—because that is how they build reading stamina and confidence!

· There is a Branches book for every kid! According the Kids and Parents Reading Report™: Fifth Edition 73% of kids believe that they would read more if they could find more books that they like. With 14 different series and counting Branches delivers on providing kids with plenty of choices, so every reader can find the perfect book for them. Does your kid love to laugh? Perfect! There is the zany and hilarious Kung Pow Chicken. Does your reader love a fantastical adventure? Dragon Masters has it all: Dragons, a Dragon Stone, a king, a wizard, and magic! How about a spooky story? Eerie Elementary will have your young readers on the edge of their seats!

Each Branches book is chock-full of loveable, relatable characters! And all of the books explore relevant themes for readers ages 5-8 like friends, school, magic, and adventure—ensuring that each book will grab your young readers’ attention!

We have been reading the Scholastic Branches series for a couple of weeks and have feel in love it!  I have an 8

Reading a Scholastic Branches book together before bed.
Reading a Scholastic Branches book together before bed.

year old that is ready for chapter books, but sometimes gets discouraged when he sees the smaller fonts and the longer chapters. However, with the Branches series, the lines are spaced well and the chapters are shorter.  Not only that but each chapter ends with a cliffhanger which encourages them to read more.  

Not only has my eight-year old been enjoying this series, but so has my four-year old. I have been slowly adding chapter books into our read alouds and get the bored face about three pages in due to lack of pictures and exciting text.  This kid will beg for us to finish an entire Branches book in one setting. I’m usually the one that asks if we can put the book down for a little break.

We haven’t had the opportunity to check out all the books that we received, but the ones we have read, didn’t disappoint! When you find a book you like, don’t be sad when it ends. Chances are, there are other books in that series.  A few of our favorites so far are:

Kung Pow Chicken
Olive & Beatrix
Notebook of Doom
Monkey Me

Another thing I love about this book, is at the end of each book there is an after reading guide.  It’s a great way to continue talking about the book and to see how much they remember. Some of the books will ask them to even draw out a picture, which is cool.

As you can see from the post, we adore the Scholastic Branches, which is why I’m beyond excited to be able to bring a giveaway to you! Reading is everything and to be able to find books that kids beg to read…that means a lot!! Here is a little about the books that are included in this giveaway:


OWL DIARIES: Eva’s Treetop Festival

Eva Wingdale gets in over her head when she decides to create a Bloomtastic Festival at school. Even with her best friend Lucy’s help, there is no way she will get everything done in time. Will Eva have to ask Sue (a.k.a. Meanie McMeanerson) for help? Or will the festival have to be cancelled? This owl-dorable series will appeal to girls who love stories about animals and friendship!

KUNG POW CHICKEN: Let’s Get Cracking!

Gordon Blue was just an ordinary second grader—until he became the SUPERHERO known as Kung Pow Chicken. Now Gordon must put his SUPERPOWERS to the test…. He is having a blast at the Fowl Festival, but then POOF! Feathers fill the air and naked chickens fill the streets. Is the EVIL Granny Goosebumps up to no good? Kung Pow Chicken is about to find out!

EERIE ELEMENTARY: The School is Alive!

Sam Graves discovers that his elementary school is ALIVE! Sam finds this out on his first day as the school hall monitor. Sam must defend himself and his fellow students against the evil school! Is Sam up to the challenge? He’ll find out soon enough: the class play is just around the corner. Sam teams up with friends Lucy and Antonio to stop this scary school before it’s too late!

DRAGON MASTERS: Rise of the Earth Dragon

Eight-year-old Drake is snatched up by King Roland’s soldier and taken to the castle. He learns that he is to be trained as a Dragon Master. At the castle, he is joined by three other young Dragon Masters-in-training: Ana, Rori, and Bo. The Dragon Masters must learn how to connect with and train their dragons—and they must also uncover their dragons’ special powers. Does Drake have what it takes to be a Dragon Master? What is his dragon’s special power?

As I mentioned earlier, there are additional books in each series, this leveling guide is a great way to build on the collection.

You can visit here to learn more about the Scholastic Branches.

Follow Scholastic on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, and Pinterest



Samantha has been blogging for over 8 years and is a wife and homeschool mom of 4 from North Carolina.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

12 − seven =